International Ice Hockey Federation

Hosts start preparations

Hosts start preparations

Dutch team announces long list and new team staff

Published 06.03.2015 17:07 GMT+1 | Author Joeri Loonen
Hosts start preparations
Last year’s U20 player Tom Marx has been called up to the Dutch senior squad for the upcoming World Championship. Photo: Oliver Ban
With less than 40 days to go before the start of the 2015 IIHF Ice Hockey World Championship Division I Group B, the hosts have announced their candidates.

The list contains 33 names and includes all players that were active for the Dutch team last year apart from Joy Turpijn, who decided to play in the second-tier league this season. Also included are a number of foreign-based Dutch players whose availability will be pending on their club team’s playoffs fortunes.

Among those are forwards Kevin Bruijsten (Amiens) and Jamie Schaafsma (Allen Americans) as well as defenceman Mike Dalhuisen, who has been playing in the AHL and ECHL this season.

The pre-selection list also includes some names of players who have yet to dress up for the national team. Youngsters Jordy Verkiel and Giovanni Vogelaar have been rewarded for their solid season while Pippo Limnell Finocchiaro is waiting for his Dutch citizenship approval. The Finnish-Italian defenceman has been playing in the Dutch league since the 2010/2011 season.

Up front Tom Marx of the Eaters Geleen has been given an invite to showcase his skill to the national team staff.

The Ice Hockey Association of the Netherlands also announced that head coach Chris Eimers will be supported by Mike Pellegrims, assistant coach, and Bohuslav Subr, scouting and video analysis.

Pellegrims, currently the assistant coach of the Wolfsburg Grizzly Adams in the German DEL, is currently involved in the playoffs and his availability is pending the results. Born in Belgium, Pellegrims developed to become the country’s best ever and most decorated player. After having completed several seasons in the Netherlands, Pellegrims continued his career in France and Germany before finishing with Klagenfurt in Austria. He won championships in the Netherlands, France and Germany as a player and is now working on building up a new career as a coach.

Continue reading

“We are excited that Mike has agreed to strengthen our national team staff,” says NIJB technical director Theo van Gerwen. “His knowledge and experience will be of great benefit for our squad.”

Bohuslav Subr played in the Netherlands for five seasons before retiring in 2011. He then suited into his new role as coach and has been responsible for the national ice hockey academy which has been installed by the NIJB in order to develop young talent in the country.

In the build-up to the tournament the Dutch will start their on-ice preparation on 28th March and will play an exhibition game against Belgium on 5th April in Eindhoven.

Preliminary Roster

Goalies: Ian Meierdres, Deniz Mollen, Martijn Oosterwijk

Defence: Mike Dalhuisen, Boet van Gestel, Jeffrey van Iersel, Nick de Jong, Pippo Limnell Finocchiaro, Jordy van Oorschot, Jurryt Smid, Erik Tummers, Dax van de Velden, Jordy Verkiel, Giovanni Vogelaar.

Forwards: Mickey Bastings, Peter van Biezen, Maarten Brekelmans, Kevin Bruijsten, Mitch Bruijsten, Tony Demelinne, Diederick Hagemeijer, Ivy van den Heuvel, Levi Houkes, Raphael Joly, Julian van Lijden, Tom Marx, Steve Mason, Nardo Nagtzaam, Joey Oosterveld, Akim Ramoul, Jamie Schaafsma, Danny Stempher, Ronald Wurm.


Back to Overview